Home " Carbon footprint " Assessing the quality of your Bilan Carbone® report

Assessing the quality of your Bilan Carbone® report

industry carbon footprint

In a context of ecological and energy transition, reducing environmental and climatic impact is becoming strategic for companies. In particular, they must become resilient in the face of global warming and its consequences on the environment and energy. Many, for example, are setting themselves the goal of carbon neutrality by 2030 or 2050, in line with the target set by France and many other countries.

To achieve carbon neutrality, we need to reduce our carbon footprint, and therefore first measure our greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. A GHG balance sheet, or Bilan Carbone®, enables an organization to systematically assess these emissions over a one-year period. Once the main items have been identified, the company can then embark on an effective and relevant transition plan.

A number of questions arise when it comes to carrying out an assessment, such as its price and quality. Assessments can be carried out in 15 minutes on online simulators, but their quality cannot compare with that of an assessment carried out with the guidance of an expert. There is also a wide choice of online platforms, for both companies and individuals, and the quality of the balance sheet produced can vary according to the platform chosen.

In this article, we'll look at the criteria you need to take into account to assess the quality of your carbon footprint, as well as choosing a platform to carry out your carbon footprint.

1. Bilan Carbone® quality criteria.

1.1 Emission factors used

1.2 Quality of data collected

1.3. Uncertainty

1.4. Compliance

2. How to choose a platform

2.1. Choosing a compliant platform

2.2 Choosing a specific platform

CTA Articles - Demo - intro

Bilan Carbone® quality criteria.

☁️Facteurs emissions used

 

One of the first criteria for a quality Bilan Carbone® is the use of physical factors, not monetary ones.

First of all, let's go back to the concept of the emissions factor. When carrying out a Bilan Carbone®, the calculation comes down to this formula:

Activity data x Emissions factor

The data can be, for example, electricity consumption in kWh, fuel consumption on the road in liters, or euros spent on a given company purchase. The unit depends on the category under study.

This data is then multiplied by an emissions factor, i.e. a coefficient that relates the data to actual greenhouse gas emissions. For example, the emissions factor for a diesel-powered car manufactured in France in 2024 is 0.2g eq.CO2/km, according to the Empreinte database. So, if this car is driven 100 km, it will emit O.2*100 = 10geq.CO2.

This is a physical factor. It is used to calculate the quantity of greenhouse gas emissions sought from the quantity of a good.

It is to be distinguished from a monetary factor, which calculates the desired quantity of GHG emissions from the price of the good concerned. The quantity of emissions is then expressed in kgCO2/k€, and not per unit. This is a major methodological difference, and implies a difference in the quality of the balance sheet.

Monetary factors are less precise than physical factors, and inherently involve a high degree of uncertainty, which varies according to the category of purchases under consideration. There is no rigorous method for determining the uncertainty of these factors.

These emission factors can be used when the physical data physical data cannot be obtained, and for certain categories of emissions (e.g. purchases of services).

Depending on the emission factors used, the quality of the work carried out will therefore vary.

✅Quality of data collected

 

Another criterion for assessing the quality of a Bilan Carbone® is the quality of the data collected.
As we saw earlier, greenhouse gas emissions are calculated by multiplying data by the corresponding emissions factor. Depending on the quality of the data, the result will be more or less accurate.

ADEME has 4 types of data:

  • Primary data : observed, taken from information systems.
  • Secondary data: generic or average, from published sources.
  • Extrapolated data: primary or secondary data linked to a similar activity that is adapted or customized to a new situation.
  • Approximate data: primary or secondary data related to a similar activity that can be used in place of representative data. There is no adaptation of the data.

The more verifiable and accurate the data, the more accurate, usable and high-quality the calculation will be.

    CTA Articles - request a demo

    ❓Uncertainty

    The uncertainty of a greenhouse gas emissions balance refers to the possible difference between the value assigned to the quantified quantity and the actual value. It is expressed either as a fixed value (5%, 15%, 30%...), or as an interval (between 10 and 15% imprecision, for example) for a given level of confidence. If the confidence level is 95%, then there is a 95% chance of finding the right value within the given interval.

    Uncertainty can be found in both terms of the formula mentioned above: the data and the emissions factors chosen.

    As explained above, the better the quality of the data, the lower the uncertainty.

    With regard to emission factors, the existing uncertainties are linked to the determining the factor (calculation or measurement method), either directly (by a supplier, for example), or through published references (Base Empreinte, for example).

    By combining these two uncertainties in the calculation, we obtain the overall uncertainty of the balance. The lower the uncertainty, the more accurate and higher-quality the result, and vice versa.

    📃Conformity

    The final criterion for judging the quality of a balance sheet is its conformity with current methods.

    There are several:

    • The GHG Protocol, which defines the 3 scopes.
    • ISO 14061-1, which divides these scopes into 6 categories.
    • The BEGES regulatory method (French territory only).
    • ADEME's Bilan Carbone® method, supported by ABC (France only).

    Depending on the needs of the company concerned, different methods can be chosen. For example, in France, it is mandatory for companies with over 500 employees to carry out their BEGES according to the regulatory method every 4 years. Other methods are more optional. International companies often choose the GHG Protocol or ISO 14061-1, to comply with international standards.

    Whatever the case, it's important to carry out your balance sheet in full compliance with one of these recognized, tested and expert-approved methods to ensure its quality.

    CTA Article - Guide 1

    How do I choose a platform?

     

    We have defined the criteria for assessing the quality of your greenhouse gas emissions balance. Now, how do you choose the right platform to produce a quality balance sheet?

    📑Choosing a compliant platform

     

    Choosing a platform that complies with the methods mentioned above (GHG Protocol, ISO 14061-1...) is essential for a quality assessment.

    For example, a company can choose according to the tool's references and the number of methods it complies with, depending on its needs.

    A company requiring the Bilan Carbone® method will therefore choose a platform referenced to ABC, while a company requiring an international method will choose a platform compliant with the GHG Protocol or ISO 14061-1.

    🔎Choose a specific platform

    We have seen just how important the quality of the data collected and the type of factors used are. One criterion for choosing a platform may be its degree of precision. How far can the tool go in collecting data, and what emissions factors can it use?

    For example, does the tool use physical or monetary factors? What databases does it access? Does it allow the use of emission factors obtained directly from suppliers, thus reducing their uncertainty and increasing the accuracy of the balance sheet? Does it enable the carbon weight of purchased products and services to be calculated accurately, based on a life-cycle analysis for example?

    When collecting data, is there any support or questionnaires distributed for certain types of data?

    Finally, the question is not only how accurate the platform should be, but also how collaborative it should be. The more collaborative it is, and the more it enables dialogue between a client and its suppliers, and their in-house teams, the more accurate and high-quality the data and emission factors used will be.

    Finally, it should be noted that the quality of the Bilan Carbone® has an impact on the quality of the company's communication. A false or inaccurate inventory can lead the company to communicate inaccurately, or even to engage in misleading advertising. This is known as greenwashing.

     

    Evaluating the quality of your Bilan Carbone®, and choosing a platform that provides a quality assessment, is essential to properly assess your impact, your carbon footprint, and thus initiate a relevant and effective ecological transition, to reduce your impact on the environment and the climate. It's also an approach that fits in perfectly with our CSR approach.

    CTA Articles - request a demo

    Carry out your company's carbon inventory with the CGI platform

    Carbon offset projects

Accueil » Bilan carbone » Evaluer la qualité de son Bilan Carbone®

Evaluer la qualité de son Bilan Carbone®

bilan carbone industrie

Dans un contexte de transition écologique et énergétique engagée, réduire son impact environnemental et climatique devient stratégique pour les entreprises. Elles doivent notamment devenir résilientes face au réchauffement climatique et ses conséquences sur l’environnement et l’énergie. Beaucoup se fixent par exemple un objectif de neutralité carbone à l’horizon 2030 ou 2050, dans les pas de l’objectif français et de nombreux autres pays.

Pour atteindre la neutralité carbone il faut réduire son empreinte carbone, et donc d’abord mesurer ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES). Un bilan GES, ou Bilan Carbone®, permet de les évaluer de manière systématique, sur un an, pour une organisation. Une fois les principaux postes identifiés, l’entreprise peut alors entamer un plan de transition efficace et pertinent.

Plusieurs questions se posent lors de la réalisation d’un bilan, comme celle de son prix, ou celle de sa qualité. Des bilans peuvent être réalisés en 15 minutes sur des simulateurs en ligne, mais leur qualité ne se compare pas à celle d’un bilan réalisé avec l’accompagnement d’un expert. Il existe également beaucoup de choix de plateformes en ligne, pour les entreprises et les particuliers, et la qualité du bilan réalisé peut varier en fonction de la plateforme choisie.

Dans cet article, nous étudierons les critères à prendre en compte pour évaluer la qualité de son bilan carbone, ainsi que le choix d’une plateforme pour réaliser son bilan carbone.

1. Les critères de qualité d’un Bilan Carbone®.

1.1. Facteurs d’émissions utilisés

1.2. Qualité des données collectées

1.3. L’incertitude

1.4. La conformité

2. Comment choisir une plateforme ?

2.1. Choisir une plateforme conforme

2.2. Choisir une plateforme précise

CTA Articles - Demo - intro

Les critères de qualité d’un Bilan Carbone®.

☁️Facteurs d’émissions utilisés

 

L’un des premiers critères permettant un Bilan Carbone® de qualité est l’utilisation de facteurs physiques, et non monétaires.

Tout d’abord, revenons sur la notion de facteur d’émissions. Lors de la réalisation d’un Bilan Carbone®, le calcul revient à cette formule :

Donnée d’activité x Facteur d’émissions

La donnée peut être par exemple la consommation d’électricité en kWh, la consommation de carburant en déplacement en litres, ou encore les euros dépensés pour tel ou tel achat de l’entreprise. Leur unité dépend de la catégorie étudiée.

Cette donnée est ensuite multipliée par un facteur d’émissions, c’est-à-dire un coefficient qui rapporte les données aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre effectives. Par exemple, le facteur d’émissions d’une voiture roulant au gazole en France fabriquée en 2024 est 0,2g éq.CO2/km, selon la base Empreinte. Ainsi, si cette voiture roule 100 km, elle émettra O,2*100 = 10géq.CO2.

C’est un facteur physique. Il permet de calculer la quantité d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre cherchée à partir de la quantité d’un bien.

Il est à distinguer d’un facteur monétaire, qui calcule la quantité d’émissions de GES voulue à partir du prix du bien concerné. La quantité d’émissions est alors exprimée en kgCO2/k€, et non par unité. C’est une différence méthodologique de taille, et qui implique une différence de qualité du bilan.

Les facteurs monétaires sont moins précis que les facteurs physiques, et comportent intrinsèquement une incertitude élevée, qui est plus ou moins importante selon la catégorie d’achats considérés. Il n’existe pas de méthode rigoureuse pour déterminer l’incertitude de ces facteurs.

Ces facteurs d’émissions peuvent être employés quand la donnée physique ne peut pas être obtenue, et pour certaines catégories d’émissions (achats de services notamment).

En fonction des facteurs d’émissions utilisés, le travail réalisé sera donc de plus ou moins bonne qualité.

✅Qualité des données collectées

 

Un autre critère pour évaluer la qualité d’un Bilan Carbone® est la qualité des données collectées.
Comme vu plus avant, le calcul des émissions de gaz à effet de serre se fait grâce à la multiplication de données par le facteur d’émissions correspondant. Selon la qualité de ces données, le résultat est plus ou moins précis.

L’ADEME compte 4 types de données :

  • Donnée primaire : observée, prélevée à partir de systèmes d’informations.
  • Donnée secondaire : générique ou moyenne, provenant de sources publiées.
  • Donnée extrapolée : donnée primaire ou secondaire liée à une activité similaire qui est adaptée ou personnalisée à une nouvelle situation.
  • Donnée approchée : donnée primaire ou secondaire liée à une activité semblable qui peut être utilisée en lieu et place de données représentatives. Il n’y a pas d’adaptation de la donnée.

Plus la donnée est vérifiable et précise, plus le calcul sera lui-même précis, exploitable et de qualité.

    CTA Articles - demande de démo

    ❓L’incertitude

    L’incertitude d’un bilan des émissions de gaz à effet de serre désigne l’écart possible entre la valeur allouée à la grandeur quantifiée et la valeur réelle. Elle est soit exprimée en une valeur fixe (5%, 15%, 30%…), soit en un intervalle (entre 10 et 15% d’imprécision par exemple) pour un niveau de confiance donné. Si le niveau est de 95%, alors il y a 95% de trouver la bonne valeur dans l’intervalle donné.

    L’incertitude peut se trouver dans les deux termes de la formule évoquée plus avant: les données et les facteurs d’émissions choisis.

    Comme expliqué plus haut, plus la donnée est de bonne qualité, plus son incertitude sera faible.

    Concernant les facteurs d’émissions, les incertitudes existantes sont liées à la détermination du facteur (méthode de calcul, de mesure), que ce soit directement (par un fournisseur par exemple), ou bien par des références publiées (Base Empreinte par exemple).

    En combinant ces deux incertitudes lors du calcul, on obtient l’incertitude globale du bilan. Plus elle est faible, plus le résultat sera exact et de qualité, et inversement.

    📃La conformité

    Le dernier critère pour juger de la qualité d’un bilan est sa conformité avec les méthodes en vigueur.

    Il en existe plusieurs :

    • Le GHG Protocol, qui définit les 3 scopes.
    • L’ISO 14061-1, qui précise ces scopes en 6 catégories.
    • La méthode réglementaire du BEGES (territoire français uniquement).
    • La méthode Bilan Carbone® de l’ADEME, portée par l’ABC (France uniquement).

    Selon les besoins de l’entreprise concernée, le choix se portera sur différentes méthodes. Par exemple, les entreprises de plus de 500 salariés doivent obligatoirement réaliser leur BEGES selon la méthode réglementaire tous les 4 ans, en France. Les autres méthodes sont plus optionnelles. Souvent, les entreprises internationales choisissent le GHG Protocol ou l’ISO 14061-1, pour être conforme aux normes internationales.

    Quoi qu’il en soit, il est important de réaliser son bilan en totale conformité avec l’une de ces méthodes reconnues, testées et approuvées par des experts pour qu’il soit de qualité.

    CTA Article - Guide 1

    Comment choisir une plateforme ?

     

    Nous avons défini les critères pour évaluer la qualité de son bilan des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Maintenant, comment choisir la bonne plateforme pour réaliser un bilan de qualité ?

    📑Choisir une plateforme conforme

     

    Choisir une plateforme conforme aux méthodes évoquées plus avant (GHG Protocol, ISO 14061-1…) est essentiel à un bilan de qualité.

    Une entreprise pourra par exemple choisir en fonction des référencements de l’outil et du nombre de méthodes auxquelles elle est conforme, en fonction de ses besoins.

    Une entreprise ayant besoin de la méthode Bilan Carbone® choisira ainsi une plateforme référencée à l’ABC, tandis qu’une entreprise ayant besoin d’une méthode internationale choisira une plateforme conforme au GHG Protocol ou à l’ISO 14061-1.

    🔎Choisir une plateforme précise

    Nous avons vu à quel point la qualité de la donnée collectée et du type de facteurs utilisés était important. Un critère pour choisir une plateforme peut être son degré de précision. Jusqu’où l’outil permet d’aller dans la collecte de données, et quels facteurs d’émissions permet-il d’utiliser.

    Par exemple, l’outil utilise-t-il des facteurs physiques ou monétaires ? A quelles bases de données donne-t-il accès ? Permet-il l’utilisation de facteurs d’émissions directement obtenus des fournisseurs, réduisant ainsi leur incertitude et augmentant la précision du bilan ? Permet-il de calculer le poids carbone des produits et services achetés avec précision, selon une analyse du cycle de vie par exemple ?

    Dans la collecte de données, y a-t-il un accompagnement, des questionnaires distribués pour certains types de données recherchées ?

    Finalement, la question qui se pose est non seulement le degré de précision de la plateforme, mais également son degré de collaborativité. Plus elle est collaborative et permet le dialogue entre un donneur d’ordre et ses fournisseurs, leurs équipes en interne, plus les données et facteurs d’émissions utilisés seront précis et de bonne qualité.

    Enfin, il faut noter que la qualité du Bilan Carbone® a une incidence sur la qualité de la communication de l’entreprise. Un inventaire faux ou imprécis peut conduire l’entreprise à communiquer de manière inexacte, voire à faire de la publicité mensongère. C’est ce qu’on appelle le greenwashing.

     

    Evaluer la qualité de son Bilan Carbone®, et choisir une plateforme qui permet d’avoir un bilan de qualité est essentiel pour bien évaluer son impact, son empreinte carbone, et ainsi amorcer une transition écologique pertinente et efficace, pour réduire son impact sur l’environnement et le climat. C’est également une démarche qui s’inscrit très bien dans une démarche RSE.

    CTA Articles - demande de démo

    Réaliser le Bilan Carbone de votre entreprise avec la plateforme GCI

    Projets de compensation carbone